Skip to main content

Projets

Activités

Le centre établit des communautés de pratique et crée des ponts entre les participants au processus d’élaboration des politiques – chercheurs, décideurs politiques, artistes et travailleurs culturels – afin qu’ils puissent partager leurs connaissances, résoudre des problèmes communs et apporter de nouvelles idées. Il donne la priorité aux enjeux de politique culturelle les plus urgents auxquels le secteur est confronté, ainsi qu’à des enjeux plus globaux auxquels le secteur peut contribuer. Il développe de nouvelles approches et capacités pour assurer une participation équitable aux débats sur la politique culturelle. De nombreuses initiatives en matière de recherche et de politique culturelle sont déjà en cours. Le centre ne remplace pas le travail, les organismes ou les dirigeants existants; il vise à les soutenir et à les enrichir.

Les activités principales du centre seront les suivantes:

  • Rassembler les chercheurs et les organismes qui se penchent sur la recherche ou les politiques en matière de culture au Canada, soit une véritable communauté de pratique.
  • Faire fructifier les idées et faciliter la mobilisation des connaissances et le leadership intellectuel en proposant un contenu accessible au public, notamment divers événements sur les politiques, des articles de blogue, des éditoriaux, des présentations de données et des conférences.
  • Renforcer la capacité du secteur en jumelant les organismes de recherche et les organismes culturels à des possibilités de partenariats de financement et de transmission des connaissances.
  • Promouvoir des méthodes politiques innovantes qui soutiennent un secteur des arts et de la culture fondé sur des données plus probantes.
  • Collaborer avec les gouvernements et les chercheurs pour combler les lacunes relatives à l'accès aux données et travailler à la création conjointe de nouvelles politiques.
  • Regrouper et amplifier les intérêts liés aux politiques culturelles, y compris les enquêtes, la recherche et les initiatives sectorielles.
  • Au fil du temps, proposer la gestion d'ensembles de données essentiels.
  • Encadrer les créateurs et les chercheurs pour qu'ils se fassent mieux entendre et participent activement à l'élaboration de politiques.

 

Enjeux stratégiques clés

Au cours de sa première année d'existence, le centre se concentrera sur des enjeux politiques prioritaires, notamment:

  • Espace et abordabilité
  • Répercussions de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (projet de loi C-11)
  • Mise en œuvre de la DNUDPA (Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones)
  • Précarité, salaire de subsistance et travail décent
  • Polarisation et politique culturelle
  • La politique en matière d’intelligence artificielle et les secteurs des arts et de la culture

 

 

PROJECTS


Rapport | Réalité des espaces culturels : repenser les politiques et imaginer les utilisations futures

Dans le présent rapport, nous analysons comment le Centre et ses partenaires peuvent approfondir les champs d'étude qui modifient considérablement la manière dont nous désignons, envisageons et soutenons les espaces culturels dans un contexte de précarité importante qui met en péril le paysage culturel.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Mise en scène | La cohésion sociale et le rôle des politiques culturelles

Le présent document contient des renseignements généraux préparer en avance de la table ronde politique intitulée La cohésion sociale et le rôle des politiques culturelles, présenté au DemocracyXChange 2024. Il explore la mesure dans laquelle les arts contribuent à la cohésion sociale au Canada dans un contexte de polarisation politique croissante à la fois au pays et à l'étranger, et considère la valeur de la cohésion sociale comme un résultat de la production artistique et culturelle.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Blog | Une conversation communautaire avec des artistes émergents : besoins, expériences et avenirs dans le secteur culturel

Ce blog résume ce que nous avons entendu lors de la récente conversation communautaire du Centre de politique culturelle avec des artistes émergents et des travailleurs culturels afin d'informer le plan d'action décennal de la ville de Toronto pour le secteur culturel de Toronto. Il met en lumière leurs expériences et leurs besoins en matière d'arts et de culture. Ainsi, il attire l'attention sur leurs idées concernant ce qui devrait être fait en matière d'espace et d'accessibilité, de financement et de ressources, de précarité de la main-d'œuvre et de valeur du travail créatif, ainsi que d'équité, d'accès et de réparation culturelle dans le secteur de la culture.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Mise en scène | Réalité des espaces culturels : repenser les politiques et imaginer les utilisations futures

Ce document a servi de note d'information à notre récente table ronde sur les espaces culturels en pratique. Il donne un aperçu de la manière dont nous (re)définissons les espaces culturels, des outils politiques qui existent à tous les niveaux de gouvernement pour soutenir ces espaces, ainsi que des détails sur les panélistes et les projets dont ils ont discuté.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Blog | Des audiences à l'écoute : C-11, le CRTC et l'engagement significatif

Le présent blogue fait suite à la série de conférences organisée par le Centre de politique culturelle au sujet du projet de loi C-11. On y souligne que, bien que la loi soit notable pour ses dispositions précises exigeant que le nouveau cadre de radiodiffusion soutienne les créateurs autochtones et ceux en quête d'équité, d'importants obstacles subsistent pour assurer un véritable échange avec les législateurs.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Vidéo | À l'écoute des audiences publiques : Table ronde sur le projet de loi C-11

Vous avez manqué notre récente table ronde sur le projet de loi C-11 ? Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour visionner l'enregistrement de la table ronde, au cours de laquelle les participants ont réfléchi à leurs expériences lors de la récente audience sur le projet de loi C-11 et ont exploré les moyens d'assurer une mobilisation significative et des résultats. *Ce vidéo est seulement disponible en anglais.

VOIR LA VIDÉO


Blog | Répercussions sociales et culturelles de l’intelligence artificielle : une place à la table des politiques

Bienvenue sur notre premier blog politique de l'année 2024 ! Nous publierons régulièrement pour vous tenir informé des problèmes sur lesquels nous travaillons et vous expliquer comment vous impliquer. Nous commençons l'année avec nos travaux récents sur les impacts sociaux et culturels de l'intelligence artificielle (IA).

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Trousse | Consultation d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada sur l’intelligence artificielle et la propriété intellectuelle

La présente trousse a été élaborée par le Centre de politique culturelle de l'EADO afin de préparer les personnes travaillant dans le secteur de la création et de la culture ou des secteurs connexes à répondre à la prochaine Consultation sur le droit d'auteur à l'ère de l'intelligence artificielle générative organisée par le ministère de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique (ISDE) du gouvernement du Canada. La consultation vous permet de faire connaître au gouvernement canadien les façons dont l'IA influe sur votre travail ou vos activités créatives et de faire valoir une perspective qu'il n'a peut-être pas encore entendue.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Coopérative Fineline

Fineline est un projet de l’École universitaire d’art et de design de l’Ontario (ÉUADO) soutenu par le Centre des compétences futures pour héberger le marché Fineline.art et une coopérative qui aide les artistes et les concepteurs à accroître leurs activités en ligne, tout en perfectionnant leurs compétences en matière d'entrepreneuriat culturel. Le centre soutient Fineline en proposant des éléments de réflexion sur les recoupements des politiques publiques qui favorisent le développement et le lancement de la coopérative. Grâce à ce travail, le centre a pour priorité d'évaluer des modèles différents de création de richesse afin de soutenir et d'appuyer les entrepreneurs dans le domaine de l'art et du design.

Empowering Creativity: Peer Support Networks in Canada

December 13th, 2023

How can mindfulness help promote the mental wellbeing resilience of artists and designers?

June 12th, 2023

Policy Reflection: AI Generated Art Implications

April 3rd, 2023

Is a new creative class emerging from cooperatives?

February 13th, 2023

Reimagining entrepreneurship in a post-growth world

December 14th, 2022


Bâtir un secteur culturel canadien rompu à l’utilisation des do

Le centre soutient Sara Diamond, adjointe de recherche et présidente émérite, en partenariat avec SynapseC, afin de renforcer la capacité du secteur culturel canadien à comprendre et à analyser la manière dont le secteur recueille et utilise les données sur les publics, alors que les pressions exercées pour produire ces données se multiplient. Le projet a pour objectifs de définir et de renforcer les capacités actuelles du Canada en matière de données analytiques culturelles. Ces objectifs seront guidés par deux impératifs : le premier consiste à préparer le terrain pour des initiatives communes de collecte et d'analyse de données par le secteur culturel canadien. Le second consiste à repérer des analystes de données culturelles dans le but de coordonner les travaux de recherche importants et permanents. Ensemble, ces objectifs facilitent la capacité à recenser les efforts existants au Canada, et à décrire les types de données, les méthodes de collecte et les normes.


Faire du bruit : Histoires cachées des créateurs noirs au Canada

Le Centre fournit un soutien à la recherche stratégique au Solid Black Collective de l'ÉUADO et au Creative Marketplace Lab de Patrimoine canadien qui s'associent pour mieux saisir les obstacles et les défis auxquels sont confrontés les créateurs noirs dans les industries des arts et de la culture, et pour définir et soutenir l'élaboration d'outils et de stratégies visant à mieux appuyer les créateurs noirs. Le projet dressera la carte des créateurs chez les personnes autochtones, noires et de couleur et les organismes qui soutiennent leurs communautés au Canada. Le Solid Black Collective est composé des chercheurs de l’université suivants : Angela Bains, Kestin Cornwall, Michael Lee Poy et Kathy Moscou.


Réagir, recréer et revoir

Le centre collabore à ce projet financé par une bourse de recherche du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH). Le projet utilise des méthodologies de recherche axées sur les arts dans le but de révéler et d'amplifier les connaissances et les résistances marginalisées et réprimées. Ce projet étudiera les lacunes et les processus d'élaboration des politiques culturelles avec de jeunes artistes de la communauté LGBTQ2+ et des communautés noire, autochtone et des personnes de couleur, en tant que co-chercheurs, afin d'améliorer leur capacité à contribuer de manière critique aux politiques qui les concernent. Ensemble, les partenaires et les chercheurs mettront à profit leurs diverses expériences et connaissances pour créer et faire évoluer les processus de changement en faveur des arts communautaires et de l'élaboration de politiques fondées sur la justice sociale. Le projet est mené par une équipe d'artistes et de chercheurs issus des organismes partenaires, notamment The Institute (un projet de Sketch Working Arts), Mass Culture et l'ÉUADO. À l'ÉUADO, le projet est coordonné par les responsables de la recherche, Alia Weston et Charlotte Lombardo.


Décryptage du support : un rapport sur les jetons non fongibles

En 2022, le centre, en collaboration avec Suzanne Stein et le Super Ordinary Laboratory, a réalisé une recherche pour Patrimoine canadien et son Creative Marketplace Lab, afin de mieux comprendre les répercussions des jetons non fongibles (NFT) sur les artistes et les créateurs, les droits d'auteur et l'économie créative canadienne, y compris le marché de l'art.

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Skip to main content

Projects

ACTIVITIES

 

The Hub builds bridges and communities of practice among participants in the policy-making process—researchers, policymakers, artists and cultural workers—so they can share knowledge, solve shared problems and contribute new ideas. It prioritizes the most pressing cultural policy issues facing the sector, as well as broader issues to which the sector can make a contribution. It builds new approaches and capacity for equitable participation in cultural policy debates. Many research and cultural policy efforts are already underway. The Hub does not replace existing work, organizations or leaders; it aims to support, amplify and provide value to them.

The Hub will be informed by the following primary activities:

  • Convene a hub for researchers and organizations engaged in cultural research and/or policy in Canada—a true community of practice.
  • Activate ideas and facilitate knowledge mobilization and thought leadership through public-facing content including policy series events, blog posts, op-eds, data visualizations, and seminars.
  • Build sector capacity by connecting research affiliates and cultural organizations with opportunities for funding partnerships and knowledge transfer.
  • Over time, offer stewardship of critical datasets.
  • Drive innovative policy methods that support a more evidence-informed arts and culture sector.
  • Collaborate with governments and researchers to address gaps in access to data, and work to co-create new policies.
  • Aggregate and amplify cultural policy interests including sector inquiries, research, and initiatives.
  • Mentor creatives and researchers to elevate their voices and actively participate in policy-making.

 

 

KEY POLICY ISSUES

In its first year, the Hub will focus its work on active policy issues, including:

  • Space, housing, affordability
  • Impact of Broadcasting Act (Bill C-11)
  • Implementing UNDRIP
  • Precarity, living wage and decent work
  • Polarization and cultural policy
  • AI policy and the arts and culture sectors

 

 

PROJECTS


Report | Policy Roundtable on Generative AI

On June 25, 2024, the Cultural Policy Hub at OCAD University hosted a virtual roundtable featuring tech and cultural experts to explore the policy implications of Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI)’s impact on the cultural industries in Canada. In this report, we summarize the key points from the discussion, and offer a few recommendations put forth by the participants on cultural policy-oriented actions that can be taken to respond to the issues that were explored.

Read More


Scene-setter | Generative AI: Policy Pathways for the Arts and Cultural Industries

This summary of cultural policy implications surrounding the rise of Generative AI highlights the complexity of the issue at hand and the potential risks that policymakers should mobilize to mitigate. Many experts are pointing to the arts and cultural industries as the “canary in the coal mine” when it comes to the risks and potential disruptions of GAI. How, then, should cultural policy makers respond? And what’s been done so far to address these compounding concerns and create sustainable pathways for the sector, both in Canada and abroad?

Read More


Report | Indiegraf, Cultural Policy Hub at OCAD U and DemocracyXChange Workshop on the Future of Independent Journalism

On April 12, 2024, Indiegraf, the Cultural Policy Hub at OCAD U and DemocracyXChange partnered to deliver a workshop on the future of independent journalism. Attended by a group of 25 independent journalists, news publishers, funders, philanthropists, researchers and policy-makers, the group generated concrete ideas for the conditions and supports that are needed for a robust news media sector—and independent journalism—to thrive and fuel a healthy democracy.

Read More


Report | Cultural Spaces in Practice: Re-thinking Policy & Imagining Future Uses

In this report, we explore how the Hub and its partners can pursue areas of further exploration that meaningfully shift how we designate, envision, and sustain cultural spaces in the face of major precarity challenges putting the cultural landscape at risk.

Read More


Scene-setter | Social Cohesion and the role of Cultural Policy

This document provides background on the Hub’s recent Policy Roundtable event Social Cohesion and the role of Cultural Policy, held at the 2024 DemocracyXChange. It explores the extent to which the arts contribute to social cohesion in Canada within a context of increasing political polarization both at home and abroad, and considers the value of social cohesion as an outcome of artistic and cultural production.

Read More


Blog | A Community Conversation with Emerging Artists: Needs, Experiences & Futures in the Cultural Sector

This blog summarizes what we heard during the Cultural Policy Hub's recent community conversation with emerging artists and cultural workers to inform the City of Toronto's ten-year Action Plan for Toronto’s Culture Sector. It highlights their experiences and needs around arts and culture and calls attention to their ideas on what should be done around: space and affordability; funding and resources; labour precarity and the value of creative work; and equity, access and cultural redress in the cultural sector.

Read More


Scene-setter | Cultural Spaces in Practice: Re-thinking Policy & Imagining Future Uses

This document served as a scene-setter for our recent Policy Roundtable on Cultural Spaces in Practice. It offers insights into how we (re-)define cultural spaces, policy tools that exist at all levels of government to support these spaces, and details about the panelists and the projects they discussed.

Read More


Blog | From Hearings to Listening: C-11, the CRTC, and Meaningful Engagement

This blog follows up on the Cultural Policy Hub’s recent Policy Roundtables event on Bill C-11. It highlights that, while the law is noteworthy for its explicit provisions requiring the new broadcasting framework to support Indigenous and equity-seeking creators, there remain significant barriers to meaningful engagement with regulators.

Read More


Video | Hearings & Listening: A Bill C-11 Roundtable

Missed our recent Policy Roundtable on Bill C-11? Click the link below to watch our recording of the panel discussion, where participants reflected on their experiences at the recent C-11 hearing and explored pathways to ensure meaningful engagement and outcomes.

Watch The Video


Blog | Social and cultural impacts of AI: A seat at the policy table

Welcome to our first Policy blog of 2024! We’ll post regularly to keep you informed about the issues we’re working on and how to get involved. We’re starting the year off with our recent work on the social and cultural impacts of Artificial Intelligence (AI).

Read More


Toolkit | Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Consultation on Artificial Intelligence and Intellectual Property

This toolkit has been developed by the Cultural Policy Hub at OCAD University to prepare people working within or adjacent to the creative and cultural sector to respond to the upcoming Consultation on Copyright in the Age of Generative Artificial Intelligence through the Government of Canada’s Innovation, Science, and Economic Development (ISED) department. The consultation provides the opportunity to engage with the Government of Canada on the ways in which AI is impacting your work or creative practice and to provide them with a perspective that they may not have heard.

Read More


FINELINE Co-operative

Fineline is a project of OCAD University with support from Future SkillsCentre to incubate the Fineline.art marketplace and a co-operative that helps artists and designers grow their business online, while developing cultural entrepreneurship skills. The Hub is supporting Fineline with thought pieces on public policy intersections that furthers the development and launch of the co-operative. Through this work, the Hub is prioritizing assessing alternative models of wealth generation to support and sustain art and design entrepreneurs.

Data Brief: Trends among Graduates of Canada’s Art & Design Universities

February 16th, 2024

Empowering Creativity: Peer Support Networks in Canada

December 13th, 2023

How can mindfulness help promote the mental well-being resilience of artists and designers?

June 12th, 2023

Policy Reflection: AI Generated Art Implications

April 3rd, 2023

Is a new creative class emerging from cooperatives?

February 13th, 2023

Reimagining entrepreneurship in a post-growth world

December 14th, 2022


Building a Data Fluent Canadian Cultural Sector

The Hub is supporting research affiliate and President Emerita, Sara Diamond in partnership with SynapseC to build Canada’s cultural sectors capacity in understanding and analyzing how the sector collects and uses audience data, as the pressures to produce audience-centric data escalates. The projects objectives are then to discover and strengthen Canada’s current cultural analytics capacity. These objectives will be guided by two imperatives: The first will require setting the groundwork for unified initiatives in data collection and analysis by the Canadian cultural sector. The second will require identifying cultural data analysts with the intention of coordinating significant and ongoing research. Together, such objectives facilitate capacity to identify existing efforts in Canada, describe data types, collection methods and standards.


Make Some Noise: Hidden Stories of Black Creatives in Canada

The Hub is providing policy research support to OCAD University’s Solid Black Collective and Canadian Heritages’ Creative Marketplace Lab as they partner to co-develop a better understanding of the barriers and challenges for Black creatives in the arts and cultural industries, and to work towards identifying and supporting the development of tools and strategies to better support Black creatives. The project will map IBPOC creatives and organizations that support their communities across Canada. The Solid Black Collective comprises OCAD U researchers: Angela Bains, Kestin Cornwall, Michael Lee Poy and Dr. Kathy Moscou.


ReAct, ReCreate, ReVision

The Hub is a collaborator on this project, funded by a SSHRC research grant. The project employs arts-based  research methodologies in an effort to surface and amplify marginalized and suppressed knowledges and resistances. It will explore cultural policymaking gaps and processes with young 2SLBGTQI+ and BIPOC artists as co-researchers, to increase their access and opportunities to make critical contributions to policies that affect them. Together, partners and researchers will mobilize diverse experiences and knowledges to co-create and impact processes of change towards community arts, and social justice informed policymaking. The project is facilitated by a team of artists and researchers from partner organizations including The Institute (a project of Sketch Working Arts), Mass Culture and OCAD University. At OCAD U the project is coordinated by research leads, Dr. Alia Weston and Charlotte Lombardo.


Decrypting the Medium: A Report on Non-Fungible Tokens

In 2022, the Hub, in collaboration with Suzanne Stein and the Super Ordinary Laboratory, completed research for Canadian Heritage, and its Creative Marketplace Lab, to better understand how NFTs (Non-Fungible Tokens) impact artists and creatives, copyright and the Canadian creative economy, including the arts marketplace.

Read More